Georgia Little League

SafeSport - A Federally Mandated Child Safety Act

SafeSport is the program that went into effect in 2018 as a result of the Federal Government's "Protecting Young Victims from Sexual Abuse and SafeSport Authorization Act of 2017." Reporting suspected or known child abuse is Federally Mandated.

Beginning immediately, Little League International and all local Little League programs must adhere to the following requirements from the SafeSport Act:

1- Reporting of Child Abuse, including sexual abuse involving a minor, to the proper authorities. Contact one of your state/county/local law enforcement agencies or Child Services Department within 24 hours.

• All volunteers of a local league are now mandated reporters and could face criminal charges if the league chooses to ignore, or not report to the proper authorities, any reason to suspect an act of child abuse, including sexual abuse, within 24 hours.
• Local leagues must be aware of the proper procedures to report sexual abuse in their state. Please reference LittleLeague.org/ChildAbuse

2- Leagues must adopt a policy that prohibits retaliation on "good faith" reports of child abuse.

3- Leagues must adopt a policy that limits one-one-one contact with minors.

4- Leagues are highly encouraged to complete the Abuse Awareness training provided by USA Baseball and SafeSport.

 
Mandated Reporters

Who Reports

Mandated reporting is the early recognition of child maltreatment with the goal of preventing further abuse from occurring.

According to Georgia law, the following persons must report abuse:

Child service organization personnel : persons employed by or volunteering at a business or an organization, whether public, private, for profit, not for profit, or voluntary, that provides care, treatment, education, training, supervision, coaching, counseling, recreational programs, or shelter to children.

According to Little League policy, all volunteers in a league are Mandated Reporters.

Note: Reports may be made anonymously. This is "Good Faith" reporting and the reporter cannot be held liable for information.

 

What to Report

Suspected or first-hand knowledge of any child abuse.

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) classify the types of child abuse as physical abuse, sexual abuse, emotional abuse, or neglect.

Physical Abuse:

Physical abuse of a child is when a parent or caregiver causes any non-accidental physical injury to a child. There are many signs of physical abuse. If you see any of the following signs, please get help right away.

28.3% of adults report being physically abused as a child.

Physical abuse includes striking, kicking, burning, biting, hair pulling, choking, throwing, shoving, whipping or any other action that injures a child. Even if the caregiver didn't mean to cause injury, when the child is injured it is abuse. Physical discipline from a parent that does not injure or impair a child is not considered abuse; however non-violent alternatives are always available.

Sexual Abuse:

Sexual abuse occurs when an adult uses a child for sexual purposes or involves a child in sexual acts. It also includes when a child who is older or more powerful uses another child for sexual gratification or excitement.

20.7% of adults report being sexually abused as a child.

Emotional Abuse:

When a parent or caregiver harms a child's mental and social development, or causes severe emotional harm, it is considered emotional abuse. While a single incident may be abuse, most often emotional abuse is a pattern of behavior that causes damage over time.

10.6% of adults report being emotionally abused as a child.

Child Neglect:

Child neglect is when a parent or caregiver does not give the care, supervision, affection and support needed for a child's health, safety and well-being. Child neglect includes:

  • Physical neglect and inadequate supervision
  • Emotional neglect
  • Medical neglect
  • Educational neglect
 

When to Report

A report must be made within 24 hours by phone or electronically via email or fax:

  • DFCS'centralized intake, 1-855-GACHILD(422-4453)

If unable to reach DFCS, or if the child is in immediate danger, report to local law enforcement (911) or district attorney in the county where the child lives.

 

How to Report

Call 9-1-1 if child is in immediate danger

Call State, County or Local Law Enforcement if no immediate danger

Call Georgia Department of Child Services: 1.855.GACHILD (422.4453)

Call SafeSport: 720-531- 0340

Give written report to SafeSport

 

U.S. Center for SafeSport

U.S. Center for SafeSport

Parents Guide to Misconduct in Sports - Free Course

 

USA Baseball Pure Baseball Courses

Abuse Awareness Course for Adults: Hosted by former Major Leaguer, David Ross, the Abuse Awareness for Adults course provides resources to create a positive and safe environment for all athletes, coaches, parents, umpires, and spectators by understanding how to recognize misconduct and abuse of all types. Topics covered include how to identify and report incidents and what abuse awareness policies should be in place.